Sammy-Grandview-win-(1)BECHTELSVILLE, PA (AUGUST 6, 2016) – It’s been 20 years since Sammy Swindell – one of the most recognized names in American motorsports history – claimed a checkered flag at Grandview Speedway. That could all change on Thursday, August 18 when the NAPA Auto Parts Thunder on the Hill Racing Series brings Tony Stewart’s Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions 410 Sprint Car touring series to the Berks County dirt track. This big night of racing is brought to you by Pioneer Pole Buildings.

The year is 1996, the car sitting in Victory Lane is a familiar light blue machine emblazoned with a number one, and the man holding the checkered flag is the heart-and-soul of Germantown, TN — Sammy Swindell. Swindell, a three-time Outlaw Champion and a five-time winner of the prominent Chili Bowl Midget event, has claimed two 410 Sprint Car victories this season at the famed Knoxville Raceway.

Victory will be no easy task for the 60-year-old racer. Along with the Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champion mainstays like Chad Kemenah, Dale Blaney, Sheldon Haudenschild, Cap Henry and Danny Holtgraver; the stars of the Pennsylvania Posse: Greg Hodnett, Stevie Smith, Danny Dietrich, Brent Marks, Lucas Wolfe and Ryan Smith will all be in attendance.

Also among the entrants is 20-time Outlaw Series Champion, four-time Thunder on the Hill Racer Series winner and National Sprint Car Hall of Fame driver ‘The King’ Steve Kinser – making his only Pennsylvania racing appearance in two full years!

The 410 Sprint Car competitors chase a $5,000 winner’s share for 35 laps of action on the famed 1/3 mile Grandview Speedway. Tenth position pays $1,000 with $500 to start the A-Main. A $100 Quick Time bonus is up for grabs, along with a $200 bonus to the first 360/358 Sprint Car and a $100 bonus to the second 360/358 Sprint Car. Also on the card is the TSRS Sprint Car Series, competing in a 25 lap feature event.

The event on Thursday, August 18 marks the first appearance of Tony Stewart’s Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions since 2000. Previous All Star winners at Grandview include Cris Eash (2000), Jeff Sheppard (1999), Fred Rahmer (1999), Billy Pauch (May 1998, August 1998), Donnie Kreitz (1997, 1986), Jimmy Horton (1982), and Steve Smith Sr. (1982).

General Admission tickets for Thursday, August 18 are $30 for adults, $10 for children (6-11), and children under 6 are FREE!

Pit Gates open at 2:30 PM, Advanced Ticket entry at 4:30 PM, Grandstand Gates open at 5:00, and Racing at 7:30 PM

Advance tickets are on sale now and may be ordered by calling 443-513-4456. Please provide your name and the number of tickets requested. Tickets may be picked up and paid for on race night after 4:00 PM. Advance ticket holders may enter the grandstands at 4:30 PM, one half hour prior to the sale of General Admission tickets.

Celebrating the 27th season of racing action NAPA Auto Parts Thunder on the Hill Racing Series always includes fun for the fans with activities such as Pre-Race Pit Tours, the Inside/Out Experience – where fans can sign-up to watch hot laps from the infield, JOE “THE PIZZA DUDE”, giveaways, fireworks and appearances by the Thunder Girls.

NAPA Auto Parts continues their long run with Thunder on the Hill as the Series title sponsor joined by Pioneer Pole Buildings, Quaker Steak & Lube, and GALCO Business Communications.

For full rules, format, purse and information visit: or

Grandview Speedway
GPS USERS: 43 Passamore Road, Bechtelsville, PA 19505
Located less than a mile off Route 100, 10 miles north of Pottstown, PA
Speedway Phone: 610-754-7688
Thunder on the Hill Racing Series Phone: 443-513-4456
Series Website:
Track Website:

About the Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions:
All Star Enterprises, LLC, wholly owned by Tony Stewart, d/b/a the All Star Circuit of Champions, is a winged sprint car series. The All-Star Circuit of Champions Sprint Car Series is one of the oldest traveling 410 sprint car organizations and is a staple of grassroots, open-wheel racing. Formed in 1970 by Bud Miller, the series has largely been considered the first ‘outlaw’ Sprint Car organization of the modern era. After a 10 year stint as owner of the All Stars, Miller passed control of the series to Bert Emick in 1980; a reign that would continue through 2002. Guy Webb then purchased the series from Emick in the summer of 2002 and served as the series President for the next 12 years. Motorsports entrepreneur Tony Stewart agreed to terms with Guy Webb to become the sole owner of the original winged sprint car tour in January of 2015.

About Thunder on the Hill Racing Series
The brainchild of Grandview Speedway owner Bruce Rogers, special events promoter Bob Miller and local driving star Dave Kelly, the Thunder on the Hill Racing Series celebrates 27 years of the most anticipated events of the racing calendar year after year. In 122 events, over $4.2 million dollars has been divvied up among the area’s fastest racers. What started as a single 410 Sprint Car event in 1990 has blossomed to feature a variety of racing action including 358 Modifieds, USAC Wingless Sprints, 360 & 410 Sprint Cars, Sportsman, Late Models, Midgets, Legends cars, DIRTcar and ROC Modified events.

About Grandview Speedway
Grandview Speedway is a high-banked one-third mile clay oval, celebrating their 54th Anniversary season in 2016. The facility offers free parking, quality food at reasonable prices (be sure to try the french fries), a program book, Grandview Speedway and Thunder on the Hill race wear and great viewing from every seat in the house. Race fans may take part in the Inside/Out promotion, where you can sign up (no charge) to watch warm-ups from inside turn four. Race fans are also invited to victory lane following the racing program and, race fans may enter the pits after the races to meet the drivers. Be ready to enjoy the spine-tingling fireworks salute on the feature event parade lap.