The cars and stars of the DIRTcar Modified Series will return to the one-third mile Grandview Speedway on Thursday night, July 14 for the nineteenth running of the TRAFFIC JAM. This event is part of the NAPA Auto Parts Thunder on the Hill Racing Series and presented by Pioneer Pole Buildings (PPB). Defending Traffic Jam race winner Matt Sheppard of Waterloo, NY stood in victory lane and said, “Now I know why they call this race the Traffic Jam”. The 60 lap feature ran fifty-eight consecutive laps non-stop providing Sheppard a lot of lap traffic to deal with as Billy Decker challenged Sheppard for the lead in the final two laps.

Gates will open at 5 PM with race time set for 7:30 PM. Race fans are invited to join the pre-race Meet & Greet presented by Low, Down & Dirty. The Meet & Greet will take place at the front gate. Fans will have an opportunity to meet a few of the drivers planning to compete in the event. Of special interest, legendary modified driver’s, the “Shillington Slingshot” Kenny Brightbill and the “Everett Express” Gerald Chamberlain will be the guests of honor for the 19th Annual Traffic Jam. Brightbill and Chamberlain will be part of the Meet & Greet and will be interviewed throughout the night.

The Thursday night, July 14 Traffic Jam will be joined by the Sportsman competing in a series of qualifying events leading up to their $1,200 to win the 25 lap feature. For the DIRTcar Modifieds, group time trials will open the show followed by heat race qualifying, a consolation and the 60 lap Traffic Jam feature that will pay $7,000 to the winner, $1,000 for tenth and $500 to start the thirty car field.

For Sheppard, it was his first ever Grandview Speedway victory and there is no doubt that he’ll be looking to make it two in a row. DIRTcar contenders expected include Brett Hearn (5 time Thunder winner), Billy Decker (2 time Thunder winner), Danny Johnson (2012 Traffic Jam winner), Stewart Friesen, Larry Wight, Mike Mahaney, Keith Flach, Pat Ward, Jimmy Phelps and Tyler Dippel. Locals expected to mix-it-up with the DirtCar clan include the Thunder on the Hill winningest driver Jeff Strunk with twelve Thunder wins, eight time Thunder winner Duane Howard, five time Thunder winner Craig VonDohren, drivers with two Thunder victories Jimmy Horton and Frank Cozze, Rick Laubach, Ryan Godown, Ryan Watt, Tom Sheetz and Dominick Buffalino just to name a few.
Timed warm-up will offer every driver a chance to establish a new one lap track record for the modifieds. Craig VonDohren holds the one lap mark of 14.298 established on 6/16/2015.

Advance tickets may be ordered by calling 443 513 4456, just leave your name and number of tickets you will need for Thursday night, July 14. You may pay for your tickets and pick them up on race night at the WILL CALL window after 4 PM. Advance ticket holders may enter the grandstand at 4:30 PM with general admission tickets going on sale at 5 PM. Adult admission price is $25, Children 6-11 $10 with children five and under being admitted for free. The Pit fee is $35 and a license is not required.

2016 Racing Schedule:
NAPA Auto Parts Thunder on the Hill Racing Series presented by Pioneer Pole Buildings

Thursday, July 14 7:30 PM PPB Night
Super DIRTcar Series 19th Annual Traffic Jam
60 Laps Modifieds & Sportsman
Legends Guest of Honor Kenny Brightbill & Gerald Chamberlain

Tuesday, July 26 7:30 PM
Grandview Speedway
410 Sprints Thunder Cup & 358 Modifieds*
Plus 410 Make up Feature and 30 lap 358 Modified Make-up feature

Thursday, August 18 7:30 PM PPB Night
Grandview Speedway
All Star Circuit of Champions & TSRS Sprints
See Steve Kinser & Sammy Swindell in action!

Saturday, October 15 6 PM
Grandview Speedway
MODS at the MADHOUSE Halloween Party
Big Block Modified/358 Modified Challenge 40 Laps, Sportsman & TSRS Sprints

*indicates NASCAR Modified Point Race

Grandview Speedway
GPS USERS: 43 Passmore Road, Bechtelsville, PA 19505
Located less than a mile off Route 100, 10 miles north of Pottstown, PA
Speedway Phone: 610-754-7688
Thunder on the Hill Racing Series Phone: 443-513-4456
Series Website: Track Website:
Twitter/Instagram: @TOTHRACING

About Thunder on the Hill Racing Series
The brainchild of Grandview Speedway owner Bruce Rogers, special events promoter Bob Miller and local driving star Dave Kelly, the Thunder on the Hill Racing Series celebrates 27 years of the most anticipated events on the racing calendar year after year. In 118 events over $4 million dollars has been divided up among the area’s fastest racers. What started as a single 410 Sprint Car event in 1990 has blossomed to feature a variety of racing action including: 358 Modifieds, USAC Wingless Sprints, 360 & 410 Sprint Cars, Sportsman, Late Models, Midgets, Legends cars, DIRTcar and ROC Modified events.

About Grandview Speedway
Grandview Speedway is a high-banked one-third mile clay oval, celebrating their 54th Anniversary season in 2016. The facility offers free parking, quality food at reasonable prices (be sure to try the french fries), a program book, Grandview Speedway and Thunder on the Hill race wear and great viewing from every seat in the house.